Please help!!!

Good Ole Boy

Reaction score
Well, I am finally trying to complete my first camera and having one hell of a time soldering. Yes this is my first time at soldering, but I am trying anyway. I have read to heat up the wire then push it into the solder, but the wire never seems to heat up enough to do anything more than dent the solder bubble. Also I have heard to apply a small amount of solder to the tip of the iron before soldering, but everytime I try this the solder just melts and falls into my case. Can anyone help me out here. I am discusted.

TNDEERHUNTER

Reaction score
HI Good Ole Boy, Sorry to hear you are having trouble. What type of soldering iron do you have? What kind of solder? Is your soldering iron adjustable(The heat)? I always tin the wires before I solder them. This makes it a little easier.

(Edited by TNDEERHUNTER at 9:15 pm on July 12, 2002)

TNDEERHUNTER

Reaction score
Is that rosin core solder? Try putting a little solder on the tip of the iron and then tin your wires. Then try to solder them. Also when you get done soldering clean the tip of the iron with a wet sponge or fine steel wool.LOL

davered1

Reaction score
GOB,

do yourself a favour and pick up a tub of acid paste flux from your local hardware store. this tub cost me 1.69 and I have made a pile of cameras. Dip wire into it then touch it to hot solder iron and solder will literally RUN into entire piece of exposed wire.Rub it onto any part of the board you nedd it and the solder will run only on the green runs exposed, will never jump off track.

try it I guarantee you will be impressed

shrtcirkt

Reaction score
GOB,
I have been soldering for awhile so let me try to explain afew points for you. Soldering is fairly simple but like most things you need to have the proper equipment, materials and above all else some practice. I am going to assume that you are trying to solder to something such as the terminals on a switch, so I will use this as an example.