Preditor calls

EVAN III

Reaction score
      Just wondering if anyone has ever used a diaphram call for callin yotes? How do you like it?

EVAN III

jim in illinois

Reaction score
Evan,
 I carry a hen turkey call with me and use it to make some low volume calls with,  it kinda works on the same principle as a mouse squeeker,  very quiet.  I think it works pretty good for that but I've never tried to do anything loud with them before.  Let me know how it goes when you try it.  Jim

MarinePMI

Reaction score
Evan,

My old girlfriend used one that...Oh!!! You mean that kind of diaphram!  Sorry my mistake!  

MarinePMI
(Sorry, couldn't resist!)

songdog

Reaction score
I use them for bobcats in particular.  You don't have to use your hands and you can remain virtually motionless.  I also think that you can make a wider variety of sounds with a diaphram call than with any of the other internal or external reed calls.

The only downside is that you can't get the volume that you can out of some other calls (but still plenty loud for the most part) and if you call for 30 minutes or so your mouth is going to be pretty sore at the end of the day.   Other than that, I love them.

redfox18

Reaction score
I have never tried one,be interesting to see how it goes for you

Varmint Al

Reaction score
I have used a diaphragm call quite a bit and it works very well. It leaves your hands free and you can still call while you are looking through the scope. I have a section about the diaphragm call on my Hunting Page. It also includes wav files of some of the sounds you can make with it. Here is the URL:

http://www.cctrap.com/~varmint/ahunt.htm#Diaphragm

EVAN III

Reaction score
      Thanks for the responces. I was mainly looking for something to reduce the amount of movement while calling. Sounds like I have the right idea.