Quail W/ Flying ticks

pitdog

Banned
Reaction score
I've been hunting quail in the Cajon Pass area for over 20 years and this is the first year that i've seen these flying ticks. SEE PIC @
http://communities.msn.com/JessesTrailCamP...amp;PhotoID=723
Doe's anyone have an official name for these pest's?
It's the size of a fly but you cannot smash it. I've seen them on waterfowl before but they were on every quail I shot.
Thanks for your insight.
sp

(Edited by wingman at 10:21 pm on Oct. 28, 2001)

pitdog

Banned
Reaction score
That's a good idea karstic. I was hoping someone had an official name for this bug. With the picture i'm sure the biologist can tell what it is.
Thanks
sp

songdog

Reaction score
I've seen these things before on quail.  They seem to "swim" in their feathers.  

Anything with more than four legs gives me the willies and I believe should be killed on sight.

I've never noticed anything wrong with the birds that I've found these on nor seen any sores... but they have to be on them for something other than a free ride.

pitdog

Banned
Reaction score
Songdog I agree with you. I havent had time to look up the DFG Bio man to send an email but I will have an answer soon. The birds w/ the bugs that I checked didn't have any sores and I diddn't see anything wrong either.

My buddy has a theory though, he thinks that the quail I shot were the only birds effected with the bug and the bugs make the birds stupid and slow fliers and thats the only reason I was able to bag em.

Maybe my EX-BUDDY is right?

sp

(Edited by wingman at 9:46 pm on Oct. 29, 2001)

Mojave

Reaction score
Since it has wings, it is an insect, rather than an arachnid, like a tick. I have never seen these on any bird, though I've seen mites from time to time. If I don't see an answer posted today, I'll try and look it up in one of my son's insect books tonight. Also, thinking about it, I believe A. Starker Leopold mentioned some kind of parasitic fly in his book, "California Quail".