Quail what are you seeing.

warren nelson

Reaction score
Been seeing a lot of small babies the last few days. The hatch is looking pretty good hope they make to adulthood.

Bankrunner

Reaction score
Thanks for the heads up, makes me want to do some recon this weekend.

jbv

Reaction score
I was just up in the sierras and I was still seeing paired up birds and males looking for mates. No fuzzballs sighted up there.

Limited Out

Reaction score
There was a excellent hatch in the Desert, from what I have seen.

GSP4Runner

Reaction score
Hordes of them are attacking my house, it is like a zombie apocalypse movie but with quail instead of zombies. Going to be a good year.

MariotheBarber

Reaction score
I’ve been telling everyone that with all the rain up here in the high desert is gonna make this a good year for bird hunting. I’m hoping it is, last year was the first one I got skunked.Now I gotta figure out what steel loads to use, I have no experience using steel shot.

Bankrunner

Reaction score
We saw a few adult singles and pairs driving the forest roads @ about 4000' on Saturday afternoon. Nothing at the ranch but i didn't venture to far from the yard because time was short.
Hey Mario, they say step up a shot size when switching from lead to steel. If you were shooting #7 or 7 1/2 lead switch to #6 steel and you'll be fine. You'll want that in a high FPS like Kent Fasteel @ around 1550 FPS. Most guys will shoot a modified or improved choke with steel. Make sure your gun is ok with steel as some older guns can suffer barrel damage.

Bankrunner

Reaction score
And try to get all the shot out when cleaning your birds. Biting down on steel shot is not pleasant.

jbv

Reaction score
I saw my first sighting for birds of the year. nice lil covey of 12 little ones, they looked to be about 2 ish weeks old. In the same area, there were males still calling for mates.

MariotheBarber

Reaction score