Question about food plot

Jari

Reaction score
I want to try a food plot to go in front of my trail cam,I've never done this before,but I've read that a Brassica mix is the best..I just wanna know if the ground has to be tilled to soil,or just spread on the surface(its grassy field now)Or just poke holes in the surface for each seed?
Also,do I have to get a bag of the special deer food seed,or would I just be able to get a mix of seed at the local feed store?And if so,exactly what seeds should I get?
Thanks...

I know this isn't really meant for the trail cam forum,,,//sorry..but you're the guys I know..

dtrushto

Reaction score
I've used brassica the past 2 seasons. I live in MI. The pictures shown here are pictures of my spring plot after about 3-4 weeks of growth. I've always tilled the soil, limed and fertilized. I've always broadcasted the seed and have had pretty good luck. I didn't have to cover the seed with any soil...just tilled, broadcast and let'er go...some precip helps tremendously. It normally germinates in 4-5 days (mine did anyhow). I used the brand name Biologic Maximum and I've also used a cheaper Gander Mtn brand and had great luck with both as far as growth. I'm sure you could go to your local grain/seed place and pic some up and not pay the high $$ and get the same results.

http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s106/dt...to/S4020010.jpg
http://i150.photobucket.com/albums/s106/dt...to/S4020003.jpg

Jari

Reaction score
Thanks,,
I was looking at stuff like this <http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250231169037&ssPageName=MERCOSI_VI_ROSI_PR4_PCN_BIX_Stores&refitem=250224639764&itemcount=4&refwidgetloc=closed_view_item&refwidgettype=osi_widget&_trksid=p284.m185&_trkparms=algo%3DSI%26its%3DI%252BIA%26itu%3DCR%252BIA%252BUCI%26otn%3D4%26ps%3D42>

this is gonna be fun..

wtnhunt

Reaction score