Rifle Purchase Question?

7magHunter

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am no expert in gun prices but I found a nice used like new condition Remington 700 sps varmint no scope with the black synthetic stock and a what I believe is a parkersized finish in 308 Win caliber.
The price for this used gun is $525 + Cali tax and dros fees. I don't own a blue book but I think this model is pretty new not exactly sure.
Now honestly please tell me is this a great deal for California prices or about average. How much is it new in SoCal?

Last edited:

7magHunter

Reaction score
Thanks for the link but that is online prices, there's a $75 to $100 more for out of state gun transfer. Also there's shipping charges and I still have to pay for California sale tax, add all together and it would cost more.

I'm looking for someone that bought this gun here in SoCal that way I can compare the price for a used one.
This one is not the heavy barrel tactical model.

7magHunter

Reaction score
Thanks,
No luck getting it lower than $525, it's a consignment from a gun store the owner told me the price is as is no negotiable..:(
I've been to a couple of used gun stores and the prices are always firm on used guns. I guess they have no interest in selling, I think they like to keep the old guns on the rack for a few months for store decoration lol. I will wait for next Turners sale.

Why is getting so difficult to find hunting rifles on sale anymore? There used to be Ruger 77, Howas, Tikkas, Weatherby vanguards etc. What happen to the classic Remington 700 bdl and the Winchester model 70 with the wood stock finish?
Every sale I found here in SoCal is Ar rifles, glocks, savage and police tactical rifles and shotguns.
You can only get a classic hunting rifle special order at a regular price but they're never on sale.

By the way, anyone looking for a new never used in the box compound bow complete package I will trade for a good used rifle, legal transfer of course.