San Diego 1st Timer... Which tag to buy?

tube_ee

Reaction score
Hey, all... I've been hunting upland game for a few years now, and I think this year will be the first time I buy a deer tag. Given that I live in San Diego county, the D16 general and G13 anterless tags are my options. Which one (both?) would be best for me to buy?

Thanks, all

--Shannon

tube_ee

Reaction score
never mind... the A13 is a drawing tag... so dumb question. I'lll be trying my luck in the general hunt. With all the fires down here the last few years, it'll likely be more hiking than hunting, but that's fine by me. Now to find some areas and scout. SD hunters... Laguna or Palomar, or maybe east around Jacumba... Thoughts?

--Shannon

sportyg

Reaction score
Laguna is archery only.. the others are open to general gun hunting..

One Track

Reaction score
If you're a rifle hunter, you'll want the D16. If you tag out, you can go purchase second D16 tag. Actually, Laguna is about half "archery only." You've got the right idea though. Laguna, Palomar, Jacumba, and all in between. Just get a map from the Forest Service and hit all the public land. The burns should be outstanding. You can put in for the doe tag next year. Water will be the key this year.

Glass eye

Reaction score
Don't forget to buy your "adventure pass" or you'll get a ticket for being on National Forest Land.
I live in the Imperial Valley and would like to hunt D16 and A22 but I protest having to pay to be on public land.

Breacher

Reaction score
D16 is over the counter tag for buck. A-22 tag is archery only and has a split season. There is also a muzzleloader tag but not sure what the season is on that.