Scent Attractants?

wshive

Reaction score
I know baiting is not allowed for hogs, but what about scent attractants? Has anyone in CA had luck using them?

Reaction score
I think with everything today its a marketing ploy. I think this way when you hunt hogs you are supposed to approach up wind anyhow. Why would you wanna smell like dinner?

wshive

Reaction score
Well, I was thinking about possibly putting it along a pig trail or something then glassing from a higher vantage point. Smelling like dinner would certainly make things more interesting though!

I'm totally new to this, so just trying to separate the tried and true methods from the gimmicky ones. Thanks for the input. :bounce-aqua:

Reaction score
This is just me but if you "lose" a bail of barley. Itll all work the same. Another is milk, If you leave a new, unopened carton of milk in the sun for a week and it "accidently spills while your taking a drink" in the woods the hogs will comma runnin. Hog feed in a barrel of water for a week gets em a little drunk sometimes too. I have a great story about that Ill tell one day.

559hog

Reaction score
This is just me but if you "lose" a bail of barley. Itll all work the same. Another is milk, If you leave a new, unopened carton of milk in the sun for a week and it "accidently spills while your taking a drink" in the woods the hogs will comma runnin. Hog feed in a barrel of water for a week gets em a little drunk sometimes too. I have a great story about that Ill tell one day.
Can we hear the story now :).

wshive

Reaction score
I heard the milk thing too! Hah, that sounds so random! Some guy (perhaps you, lol) told my cousin about it, and he said it worked for him. Though, he didn't realize baiting wasn't allowed at the time. I wanna try to keep things on the up and up just for myself. I am tryin' to murder them, after all. :chainsaw: Hehe.

Reaction score