Shooting sticks

Brnsvllyjohn

Reaction score
I thought I would put this in the blactail deer forum since blacktail season will open first. I have been using crossed shooting sticks for over 20 years and have purchased 3-4 different brands. The ones I am currently using and almost everyone I hunt with is using are the Easton Cross Shot sticks in medium. I also have the taller ones but rarely carry them. I have 3 sets for myself since I am old and will sometimes forget them in someone else's rig or at home. I carry a set in my truck, in my travel trailer and a set that is with my hunting vest that I use 90% of the time. I have purchased another 4-5 sets that I have given to my son and grandsons. That is an indication of how much stronger and better they are than the other brands I have used. I use them to glass with since I use 10 power binos and I will sit for long periods of time to glass. They support my binos almost as well as a tripod would.

I am not saying you need shooting sticks but I think they are a great help for me when going prone is not an option. I am posting this since we seem to have a few new hunters this year and they may not have thought about a way to support a rifle for a shot while sitting or a support for the binoculars while sitting down. I almost never collapse mine back down unless I am crawling or packing. If I don't have them extended it takes too long to get ready for a quick shot if one is needed.

If you watch Randy Newberg videos he really likes walking sticks and they also work well and walking sticks provide more support for hiking. I like my shooting sticks and I don't hike the kind of distances some of those guys do.

Last edited:

Farallon

Reaction score
Re using shooting stix for climbing, I have used a trekking pole as a “steady”.

CA North Coast, second year here. Few does, many fawns...more fawns than does....this week I will put put a couple of licks and some deer “fertilizer”. And a game camera.