Shotgun suggestions

Robb

Reaction score
I am beginning a search for a new upland game over/under.  I have been shooting O/U's for years (12 gauge) and love them.  I have been looking at the Weatherby/SKB's Orion/385/585.  Anything else that I should be looking at?  (I like the Mod. Greener cross-bolt!)

songdog

Reaction score
I've been shooting a 28ga Red Label for the past 4-5 years and love it.  I bought it for dove and quail but find myself using it for everything except duck (I did find a couple boxes of Bismuth 28ga shells and shot it last duck opener at Wister though).  That includes pheasants, huns, mountain quail, chukar and sharptails.

I really like the light weight and haven't felt handicapped by the smaller shot charge.  The fact that it's actually a 28ga frame and not a 20ga frame with 28ga barrels is quite noticable.

Per almost anything that has a Ruger name on it, it's solid all the way around, the wood is a notch above what you would expect and the fact that you can get them out the door for less than $1000 is attractive too.

The only drawback, if I can think of one, is that with the light barrels it takes more than just the weight of those barrels to open the action.  Certainly not excessive by any means but you can't just move the lever over and let the weight of the barrels open the action like you can on most 12ga guns.

Try it, you'll like it.  And if you don't there will be plenty of other folks out there ready to take it off your hands.

Eric Mayer

Reaction score
I'll back up Songdog on the Red Label.  It is a great little gun, light and easy to handle.  Also, Winchester loads some 1oz - 7.5 loads that effectively match the normal "dove/quail" loads for the 12 ga.  

Eric

huntducks

Reaction score