• The forum is now running on the Xenforo platform. The first time you log in here, you may have to reset your password by doing a password recovery. Your login info will be sent to the email you have listed on your account; please check your spam or junk folders if you don't see it in your inbox. If that address is invalid, obviously you won't get the email: In that case, use the contact form or the envelope icon at the top right of the header to send us your member name and a current valid email address.

Slug guns

Brnsvllyjohn

I have owned a rifled barrell for an 870 for a number of years. Cantileivered scope mount and I have a 4 power Leupold scope mounted on it. Now years ago it shot the Brenneke slugs reasonably well. I did not think I would ever hunt a shotgun only area again so I never really kept up with the copper sabot type slugs. 2 years ago I started playing around with slugs again. I can tell you what the gun does not like and my bruised right shoulder is tired of trying different brands. I was able to get an OK group with the Remington 2 3/4 sabots so I might be done experimenting for now. Last week at the range I shot 19 rounds (cost about $75) with 3 different brands. I was hoping at least 2 brands would shot to about the same point on the target. Didn't happen. I feel that I can shoot effectively to around 100 yards but no further with the Remington. I know a lot of you can shoot twice that far with your slug combo. I don't think I will make any changes or buy another slug gun option until I am sure I will have more opportunities to hunt shotgun only areas.
My son purchased the bolt gun by Savage but he hasn't shot it much yet. I know guys on here as well as some friends who do really well with their 11-87 with a slug barrel. That will probably be my next option if and when I try another option.