Soldering Help Owl pf

Gator

Reaction score
Hey Guys,
I bought 2 af's and 2 pf's, I started with the af's and they were not to bad I got them wired and they both worked fine. But the pins on the pf are really close togethter and I can't seem to get them soldered without shorting them together. I am using a 30w iron and .050 solder core flux. I read the soldering tip but nothing jumped out at me that I could do different. Is there anything to cover the other pins with that I could remove after I make a weld?
Thanx for the help.

gizz

Reaction score
I'm no expert at this but if you melt a little solder on the end of your solder tip then touch the joint you may find it a bit easier. Don't melt a pile of solder on the end of your tip, just enough do the job.
Also solder(Tin) the end of your wires before trying to solder them to the board. This way you won't need to handle the solder, just the wire and solder pen.

Gator

Reaction score
Thanx Gizz,

I did tin the wires, I had no problem with the af's, but the pins being so close on the pf's, was giving me trouble and also the solder that was already on the board didn't seen very solf and I was having a hard time getting it to weld.

mkacala697

Reaction score
i found a little trick if u cut a piece of sotter off about 1 sixteenth of an inch long and lay it right next to the desired pin, then hold your wire there, and finally just melt it, it does a really nice job

robNhood

Reaction score
Soldering the PF...what I use is phone wire. The phone wire that is the single strand that goes to you wall jack. It is really thin and I have had great success with it. Just secure it real well to prevent it from bending and breaking.

I have had my cams soldered this way for over a year now without any problems.

gizz

Reaction score
Seriously, I found drinking coffee before trying to solder was not a good idea either.