Solenoid questions from Ray

spectr17

Administrator
Admin
Reaction score
Okay all you solenoid users, time to help out with some questions from Ray. Ray sent me this email and since I haven't used a solenoid in a few years on my cameras I figure I should have you peeps help out. Mucho thanks.

Ray email,

I just stumbled on your homebrew trail camera website, and I'm glad I did.  This is great stuff.
I wonder if I could bother you with a few questions.

I am a graduate student at North Carolina State University working on a bobcat habitat project.  We are on a fairly tight budget and your camera designs look like just the thing.    

We have a couple thousand acres to monitor.  After the first trial few cameras, we will be fielding a bunch.  I'm looking for a design that is easily replicated, cheap, and has good power economy.  From your website, it looks like a solenoid driven cheapo camera is my best bet.  I found the Vivitar BV-50 for $18.00 directly through the vivtar.com site and was wondering if you have heard any opinions about this particular camera (there's a Vivitar CV-40 shown in the gallery).  It's a non-focus, motorized, 35mm.

On the web site schematic of the solenoid set up, there are two batteries shown (solenoid and PIR).  Is the solenoid hungry, or could both be fed from one 12vdc?  What would the battery longevity be?  What is the longevity the pair of 12vdc?

You describe the Radio Shack PIR as 12x less power hungry than the Regent.  Is this an appreciable amount, or will the camera be visited for film replacement before the batteries run out no matter which PIR you use?  Do you routinely change the batteries with every visit?

I'm trying to determine the necessity of the shutter delay timer for my situation.  You mention that the cameras go into shutdown mode if the PIR is tripped for over three minutes.  Is this a problem when run off solenoid?  If I use the Regent MS20 PIR, will the "auto"setting delay be sufficient?