solonoid woes

horndog

Reaction score
Ok guys, I'm a newbie here..my first post....first of all, I love the site and have gotten alot of info for these cams. My main problem is this, just spent $40 for a canon owl and the wife doesn't really want me to take it apart...shes' afraid it will end up looking like the toaster, the alarm clock, coffe pot, ect.ect...you get the idea (lol) anyway, what kind of solonoid will work for a 12v system? I thought about a power door lock actuator, but those will not come back off the button, a stop idle solonoid doesn't have the power to push the button....I'm stuck. can I rig up a solonoid? or do I need to get into the wifes stash and buy another cam without her knowing  it?.....(just kidding) Open for any suggestions

dharter

Reaction score
In the main jesses camera design web pages some solenoids are mentioned.
Jameco has them.  There is one that is about $8.00.  The part number is on the web page.  I bought that one.  It has a thread and nut on one end.  You can then mount it using that.  The push rod moves freely, and only gravity keeps it from sliding out in the opposite direction.  I have seen the door lock solenoids at All Electronics within the last few months, however it is not listed as a solenoid.  I think some persons in this forum have used that type, but it is rather large.