stabilizers, need them or not?

Schoettgen

Reaction score
I thought I would ask the question since I have used one for the last 12 or 13 years I have bowhunted. After spending a little time this summer without, I think that is how I am going to hunt. I can't tell much differance in accuracy, at least not enough to make a differance hunting. The bow is nicer to pack around and easier to carry. Most of my bowhunting involves a lot of walking so that is a big plus, and it does not fit in my scaboard on my horse with the stabilizer on or folded. Opinions???

Hideandwatch

Reaction score
Im no expert on this at all, but I am thinking that it must depend on the balance of the bow. I shoot a reflex whitetail hunter and have for the last 6 years. I have not used a stabelizer on this bow. I put one on it one time during target practice, and I didnt notice any differance. When I grip the bow without a stabelizer, my bow is balanced, while the bow rests on the top of my hand with my fingers released. I have held other bows without a stabelizer and they fell back toward me, (unbalanced). Thats my two cents.

nickroy77

Reaction score
I thought a stabilizer helped to quiet the bow down as well as help to improve accuracy? Maybe not by much but I think it helps in that way.

jjhack

Reaction score
Most of the hype involving vibration in your bow is for your personal feeling. It might reduce what you feel in your hand but really it has nothing to do with accuracy. The arrow has long since departed and probably hit the target by the time you feel any vibration.

I have shot with and without a stabilizer and just don't see the need anymore. JUst more crap to attatch to your already cluttered up bow. I even took off the peep sight and went to the no peep to reduce the tubing and string peep clutter.