Tents...is a couple pounds worth it?

hotdog

Reaction score
So I'm a newbie to backpack hunting, but I'm determined to do it this season along with a buddy of mine. I have been spending countless hours looking at different tents. I found a couple Mountain Hardware tents that I like. The Helion 2 and the Skyledge 2.1, weighing in at 3lbs 12oz. and 4 lbs. 5oz respectively. My brother has a Cabela's XPG Ultralight that weighs in at 5lbs 6 oz. Now the Cabela's tent is roughly 2 lbs heavier than the other tents. I like a couple features of the Cabelas tent...ie rain fly vents to prevent condensation. But I like the light weight of the other tents.....suggestions? The Cabelas tent is cheaper...do i save weight or money?

SDHNTR

Reaction score
I have that Cabelas XPG tent in 4 man for truck camping. That thing is really nice. It's built tougher than a lot of tents costing a lot more. I really like it. But regarding your question, YES, 2 pounds is a lot. You will usually find that the better quality lighter stuff is definitely more expensive. Check out the Big Agnes Seedhouse SL line.

JNDEER

Reaction score
questions i asked myself when i went through the same process was when would i be going? and were? personally i will probably only stay in CA hunting archery using it....so the ultra nice rain guard tents were not soo appealing to me... so weight was what i was after (plus it had to be a two man)... we went with a 4.1 pounder...not the lightest but price and weight are ok.......dividing up your load with a hunting buddy will really help

hotdog

Reaction score
Thanks for the input guys. I acctually almost bought a BA Seedhouse 2 SL when i first started looking, but i figured i should look around some more. That REI is a pretty good looking tent and the price isnt bad either. I'm not it a big hurry to buy, so I'm going to keep looking and research as many options as i can. Thanks again.

easymoney

Reaction score
"Tents...is a couple pounds worth it?"