Test equipment

shrtcirkt

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 22, 2001
Messages
328
Reaction score
0
What do you use for testing curent draw especially when you get down into microamps?
I have a fluke 97 but it doesnt seem to respong fast enough to catch accurate readings during a sensor cycle.
Also, do your use a power supply or batteries when checking current?
 

Brian

Inactive
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Messages
1,194
Reaction score
0
I use the Fluke 87 which is a great MultiMeter.  It reads the microamps very well and very fast with Max and Min capability.

I use the nine volt power supply from Radio Shack.  I got it on sale.  It plugs direct into the nine volt connectors for a standard nine volt battery.  I use regulators on my designs for the 5 volt supply to the board.  I also have one built into my test boards so the nine volt power supply can be plugged in there too.
 

Tinhorn

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 13, 2001
Messages
3,516
Reaction score
0
I have several digital meters but the one I use most is a bench model I built from a kit in 1979.  I'm not sure how low it will read (in micro-amps) but the Low scale full deflection is 200 ua's (& 200 mv's)  I have a few analog meters too, mostly Simpson 260's for when I want visual continuity indications, like when testing Diodes or transistors for shorts, etc.

I usually use batteries when testing current, too lazy to get out the bench power supply and repair it  ha ha.  

I also have a couple oscilloscope's but seldom get any of them out either.  I kept all the equipment from when I had a TV/CB Repair shop (for 10 years)

Tinhorn
 

Archilochus

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 27, 2001
Messages
1,285
Reaction score
0
Hi shrtcirkt,
I use a cheap "no-name" digital meter for most uA measurements - kinda slow 2 second "refresh" time on the display.
If I have a need to measure fast signals, I break out my ancient analog meter.  Lots easier to see what's happening & when - but not as accurate in the uA scale.
>>>>
I use batts when testing a circuit just so more of the "real-world" operating conditions are simulated.
>>>>
Tinhorn ... A COUPLE 'scopes !!!?  I'm jealous!!  :)  Took me years to scrounge up the one battered old scope that I have...

Archilochus
 

Brian

Inactive
Joined
Jul 30, 2001
Messages
1,194
Reaction score
0
A scope for personal use.  I am jealous.

I have to borrow one from work to get to use one.  Of course, not on company time.
 

shrtcirkt

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 22, 2001
Messages
328
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the responses guys. I'll have to give my fluke another shot it....
 

Jaggermax

Inactive
Joined
Apr 6, 2001
Messages
505
Reaction score
0
Check out EBAY ofter for deals on Oscopes.  I picked up an older HP 20Mhz dual trace scope for $60.  Works like a charm.  You will still need a good amp meter though.  
 

ArkansasElkHunter

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 19, 2002
Messages
1,748
Reaction score
0
I have several "O"scopes,  and really like them.

I don't think its a fluke or an HP, and I diddnt know you spelled it with and O, guess its silent like in opossum.  

Now down in the southern part of the state  they still run a lot of dogs and the cuntry's real thick, so some of them boys are hanggin on to their buckshot.
 
Top Bottom