Thinking about 4x4

Archer82

Reaction score
Hello everybody. Im in the market to buy an suv. I want to get a toyota 4runner 4x4 but wanted to pick your brains about vehicle selection for hunting/daily driver options. Do you use the same vehicle as your daily driver that you use for hunting ? in today’s hunting world is 4x4 necessary ? Im completely new to hunting and would greatly appreciate some insight and advice.

dummer71

Reaction score
What are you planning to hunt and where are you planning to hunt?

4x4 is definitely nice to have and can be necessary in some areas and weather conditions. In the SUV Category, I would look at a jeep wrangler and cherokee in addition to a 4runner. A truck can be nice for tossing gear and game in the bed.

Brnsvllyjohn

Reaction score
I have always owned a 4x4 of some kind. I may not use the 4x4 feature very frequently but when you need it it is nice to have. I currently own an F250 4x4 so for a daily driver it is a little big but every time I try to figure the cost of adding a smaller vehicle it just doesn't pencil out. I do use my wife's Honda as much as I can but I drive the F250 way more than I drive her car.
Can you deer hunt without a 4x4? Absolutely you can. You just need to be more careful about the weather and areas you hunt. Where I shot my buck last year I could have driven almost any car to within 1 mile of that area.
I would think a 4 runner would do a little better on fuel than a gas F250 so if I were you I would see how it goes before I bought an additional daily driver.

quaildeath

Reaction score
I have owned an F150, Cherokee and now an FJ Cruiser. All 4x4.
Def not 100% needed. Anywhere I go though I have the confidence I can get back with about 90% confidence.

Archer82

Reaction score
thanks !!! i was thinking the same, i may not need to use 4x4 every time i go hunting but in the situation i need it i’d rather be safe and have it. Ill be hunting in southern CA this coming fall season.

quaildeath