This may be a dumb queston

Dermody15

Reaction score
As you can see im new to this sport but if i go coyote hunting i want to be good and ethical so im wondering what do you do after you shoot it? Do you just leave it there and let other yotes eat it or what?

pitdog

Banned
Reaction score
I use the pelt for fly tying and eat the back straps  :gag-green: (taste like chicken!).:pickin-on-horse:
sp

hunter mike

Reaction score
Wingman,

I have tried that with the white wine and plum juice marinate, it is especially tasty.

Frank

Forever Hunting
Reaction score
Wingman & hunter Mike, you guys are bad...(lol)

songdog

Reaction score
Hey, experience is the best teacher... from caliber to recipe :smile-wink:

QALHNTR

Reaction score
<font face="Tahoma">Hey Wingman, your new picture looks just like the way Marty describes you!</font>:bag-on-head:

Thonzberry

Reaction score
AH yotes, I :microwave-nuke: for 10 secounds. YUM YUM  :gag-green:

Speckmisser

Reaction score
Dermody,

This bunch of comedians oughtta keep their day jobs.  So let this non-yote hunter suggest that you DO NOT try to eat it but that you DO wanna skin it and keep the pelt.  

For basic care of the pelt, scrape it real well to remove all the meat and fat.  This takes time and effort, but if you don't, you may as well throw the stinking thing away.  Once you've got it scraped, salt it good, roll it up, and put it somewhere cool and dry.  After a couple of weeks, the salt should have pulled the moisture out of the skin.  Scrape it off again, and you have the basics for a workable skin.  You can rub it down with some neatsfoot oil or something to soften the skin side, or you can just tack it to a wall if that's your thing.

Some of the experienced varmint guys, when they quit giggling at themselves, can probably give you some more good tips for working with the hide once you get it off the critter.

songdog

Reaction score