Thompson Center .50 Caliber Black Diamond™ XR

widgnwhacker

Reaction score
Hello Gang,

I recently drew a Muzzleloader Bull Elk tag for Unit 6A in Arizona. I am looking at buying a muzzleloader for this hunt. I have limited experience with muzzleloaders and have only used a .54cal TC Hawken in Idaho a number of years ago for Deer. I am also on a limited budget and was wondering if this rifle that BPS has on sale would work well for my hunt?

Thompson Center .50 Caliber Black Diamond™ XR Rifle @ $199.99

Also what type of Powder, Primer and Bullet would work well for this hunt. Most shots that I have had in the past in this area with a center fire rifle were not much over 100yds. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks!!

Walker

Reaction score
You might get some better answers than mine but I think that Black Diamond barrel is designed to shoot sabots. I had one and could barely keep it on paper with conicals.

Wolfhound

Reaction score
If you get it try Powerbelts. They are one conical that T/C's will generally shoot well. You can also try heavy sabots in the 300 gr range. Stick with loose powder. You have more ability to tune in your load.

oldyankee2

Reaction score
Do you know what the twist rate is in that new Black Diamond ? I think that
the XRs are somewhat optimized for shooting sub-caliber bullets with sabots.
I have a T/C Encore 209x50 muzzleloader, and have found quite good accuracy
with a simple 100 - 115 grn pyrodex load and the Hornady 250 or 300 grn
black sabotted XTPs. Some folks also have good results with the 295 grn
powerbelt bullets, with a similar charge of powder.

I haven't chronographed this load yet, but I can easily get sub 2" groups at 100 yds
with them (3 shot groups), and, if I am doing my job, also keep 5 shot groups
under 2.5 inches at the same yardage. I adjust it to hit about 1.5 or 2 " high
at 100 yards, which gets me pretty much dead on at 150 yds. This is with a