Water Filters

PowDuck

Reaction score
I'm looking to get a water filter system for hunting. I've used the purifying pills before but want to get a filter. Right now I'm looking at the new MSR UltaFlow and the Katadyn Hiker or Hiker Pro.

Did a search and found some info here but not a dedicated topic to this subject. Since I've never used a filter before I don't know a whole lot about them. I don't want to spend a ton of money and won't use it a lot, mostly in Colorado on elk trips and possibly on all day turkey trips in the Arkansas Ozarks.

Anyway, what do you guys that use them a lot use and why? Thanks in advance for the replies.

doccherry

Reaction score
I'd recommend the Steri-pen. It's a water purifier, the same thing now used by the military. It's the only system, as near as I can tell, that's been approved by the FDA for all types of water. Here in Hawaii, leptospirosis is a real problem and the filters can't remove the bacteria because it's so small. The Steri-pen works great. It only takes about a minute or so to purify a liter of water. You can get them for about 80 bucks on Ebay. They last forever and only require an AA battery.

PowDuck

Reaction score
doccherry, hadn't thought about the SteriPen

SF, that's the link I was looking for. (Note to self: improve search skills)

I figured it had been discussed before I just couldn't find it.
It's getting kind of difficult to decide. There are a lot of mixed reviews out there. On any given system there are those who absolutely love it, and those who can do nothing other than give it a good cussin'.

gc4279

Reaction score