Welcome and brief bio

spectr17

Administrator
Admin
Reaction score
I'd like to welcome all you varmint hunters here. How about a quick bio from everyone? My name is Jesse and I live in Southern California. I like to hunt coyotes, bobcats and ground squirrels. Right now I'm just using my Rem 870 and borrowing my buddies rifles on hunts. I'd like to get me a nice dedicated varmint rifle here soon. I have a gob of mouth calls, Circe, Lohman etc. and would really like to get my hands on a Fox Pro or Johnny Stewart electronic caller. How about everyone else?

D

Dhunter1

Jesse, I've been chasing Coyotes for 2 years.  One of the hardest critters to call once they have been exposed to callers in the past.  This time of year in IL. it is limited to daylight hunts so it gets even tougher.  I have had success with distress calls, no luck with sqeekers or coyote howlers yet.  I am looking at using a electronic caller myself since it was legalized in this state last year.  The coyote population seems to be increasing thus small game has been decreasing.  I started hunting them after bowhunting deer one evening.  I shot a small buck and didn't get the hit I wanted.  I tracked him for about an hour and a half as it was getting dark.  When I finally got to him I discovered the coyotes had beat me to the downed deer.  His leg was mutalated and they were still hanging around. I tagged and dragged what was left of the carcuss back to the truck and they followed at a distance.
I couldn't believe that they weren't afraid when prey was involved.  Since then I have hunted them mainly when deer season  slows in the winter.  I have nailed 2 this year.  Iv'e been lucky shooting them at close range with a 22, but I would love to get my hands on 22-250 with a good scope.  We can use a spotlight during Fox season, I have a hand held red lens spotlight I use and when its off I use a night vision scope to help locate them.

rusman66

Reaction score