WHAT DID I DO WRONG?

Rimrock

Reaction score
I went out this week to try my hand at varmint calling. Made four or five stands. On one I had a coyote bark and howl back at me from a brushy draw about 200 yards away. It answered several times from the same place for about 15 minutes. I was able to move downwind to within about 100 yards and called again. It never moved but would bark and howl. This lasted for about half an hour. Never did see it.
Some of you with experience may be able to shed some light on what I may have done wrong. Is it common for them to answer?

Play fair.

pitdog

Banned
Reaction score
Rimrock,
I'm no expert but is it possible that you may have heard another varmint hunter? (could it have been songdog?)
Steve

grtwythunter

Reaction score
Rimrock- What type of call were you using? If it was a howler it would be normal to hear them respond. If it was a distress(i.e. rabbit) call and they responded by barking and howling, you got busted somehow. My guess would be either they winded you or saw you come in. I have also noticed that in places that get hunted alot the yotes wise up pretty quick to distress calls.
   Keep at it....all it takes is practice and luck.
Scott

Frank

Forever Hunting
Reaction score
Rimrock,

Rimrock,

I agree with Scott, you just got busted is all. Either saw or winded you. I had the exact same thing happen to me last October on a rabbit distress call, but suckered 2 other yotes on a mouse squeeker. godawful shooting kept me from nailing them both, but did get one of 'em.  Persistence, not giving up and perhaps going with someone with experience are the 2 biggest keys.  Good Hunting !    

Varmint Al

Reaction score