When another hunter finds you honey hole

imperial valley hunter

Reaction score
So check this out...

The spot I've been hunting for the past 3 years has been found by a "sponsored" hunter. He already posted pics online about "his" new spot he found and can't wait to hunt it. My cam is set up probably 10-15 yards from his i'm guessing by the looks of his pics. So it looks like I will have a hunting neighbor when the season opens up this year. It's kinda funny but I guess I can now check his post' and see if my cam missed any bucks, it's like having 2 cams out now ;-). It's a first for me but has this ever happened to any of you? It's BLM land so I am cool with it and understand nothing can be done, I will just have to be at the spot a little earlier this year.

cjack

Reaction score
I stumbled across someones spot last year in the forest, the guy had 4 cameras covering all angles and 2 tree stands set up for different wind conditions. There was a lot of sign in the area and although I did hunt the spot for a couple of days I never saw a buck. The owner of the equipment was a trusting sort, no locks on the cameras or climbing tree stands. Couldn't resist the photo opportunity and left the guy a few pictures of an antler shed that I brought with me one day just to mess with him.

MariotheBarber

Reaction score
I’ve had that happen during dove season. 2015 season we camped a mile or so away from our dove spot, and when we got to the spot at 4:45-5 AM there were 3 guys already set up with a mojo. My 2 hunting pals and I were like “what the heck? The whole reason we camped nearby was to be the first ones there”. I asked my older pal what we should do, he said “screw it, its California” so we just elbowed our way in. I’m sure those guys weren’t too happy to have us hunting pretty much right there with them, but oh well, its public land.

Rodburner

Reaction score