Where Are You From & Where Do You Hunt Turkeys?

spectr17

Administrator
Admin
Reaction score
How about some introductions?

Where are you from and where do you hunt turkeys?

Do you use a bow, rifle or shotgun? What kind?

Who taught you how to hunt turkeys and when was your first turkey hunt?

What is your dream turkey hunt?

I'm from Missouri but live in southern California and started chasing turkeys in 1965 with my Dad in Missouri. We called in a turkey on our first trip but we were so amazed at our luck we forgot to shoot the tom. I bowhunt and shotgun hunt them dern birds.

I hunt CA, The Kaibab in AZ, Missouri and southern zone in UT when drawn.

I'm currenty using a PSE Coyote recurve bow and a Rem 870 pump.

My dream turkey hunt would be a Gould's in southern AZ in Apache country.

Possum

Reaction score
I am from the Midlands of SC and hunt turkeys mainly in the Lowcountry about 1 1/2 hours away from Myrtle Beach where I have a family farm. I have been hunting since 1990 when the season opened. Our birds (12) were given to us by a program that trapped them out of the Francis Marion National Forest. I was taught by a friend with about 23+ years of experience. He taught me a lot of tricks and I developed a few of my own after watching a lot. Called my first bird in in 1992 (face to face in a briar thicket) and was too suprised to shoot. I started turning tube calls in 1994 after calling a bird in with one the first day I took it. I have shot a Mossberg 3 1/2 since 1992 with #4's and never had to change. My dream hunt would probably be somewhere chasing a Merriams in the hills out West.