Which 20ga and 12ga shotshell load for dove?

uplander

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am taking out my Franchi 48AL 20ga that I bought used for the first time for dove this opener with High Desert Hunt Service. As I have no experience with 20ga, what shot shell load are recommended for dove? Also what about 12ga?
Thanks for the info.
Brian

camo snob

Reaction score
I shoot #8's. what ever is cheap. It's more about wing shooting than type/band of shells, but right now I got a case of Estate shells for under $40 and they cycle well in my gun.

Good luck with the new gun

ducslayer

Reaction score
# 8 shot 1 1/8 OZ I shoot a Browning Gold 3 1/2 anything less will not cycle.

Rnovi

Reaction score
Uplander - I too have an AL48 - great gun. I love the weight when I'm humping for Chukar. For chukar I carry 25 rounds and am happy to shoot 10 over the whole of the day. Heavy #5's work great for that.

BUT, to be honest, it's a bit light for dove. I mean, the gun itself is a bit light. I bruise up after 125 rounds of the lightest 20 guage I can find.

I've heard that it's quite possible to burn 250 + rounds on a dove opener...

Just to take the recoil I'd recommend a heavier gun.

Explorer66

Reaction score
I use #7 ½ but it is a personal preference. Some like #8 because of the denser pattern and I like the 7 ½ because they seem to hit harder on the long shots. I shoot the 1 1/8 oz loads in my 12 ga, to make up for pattern density. Another consideration is that during second dove season, pheasant season is open and if I am lucky enough to see a rooster, the 7 ½ does a fine job.