Which bullet do you use?

feelinducky

Reaction score
I'm just getting into reloading and am curious what bullets you guys use for hogs, deer, elk. I'll be loading for .30-06, and .270. There are so many choices I'm trying to figure out what will hold up the best. It seems my 06 likes heavier bullets better then the light ones. The TSX sounds good for California because of the lead ban issue. I don't know if I'll be hunting in the lead ban range or not.
Thanks

MJB

Banned
Reaction score
TSX
Go with barnes that way you can hunt anywhere.

bpnclark

Banned
Reaction score
Swift Sciroccos and Swift A-Frames for big animals up close. I dont hunt south of Hwy 4 so I'm not worried about the lead-ban (yet).

Rancho Loco

Banned
Reaction score
The 168 gr. TSX shoots the lights out in my .30-06. I wouldn't hesitate to use that on a bull Elk, mule deer, blacktail or pig, with or without the lead issue. That being said, the 165 gr. Nosler accubond and 165 gr. Speer hot-cor are both proven deadly to pigs, and give easy accuracy. I'm also about to mess around with the new tipped TSX in my 7mm saum along with Sierra pro-hunters.

I've also heard that the Remington Bonded Cor-lokt is pretty accurate. I'd like to give those a shot.

Basically, what I'm saying is... Welcome to reloading. You'll be cooking up recipes to YOUR tastes, and have a great time doing it.

Rancho Loco

Banned
Reaction score
OK - buy some premiums like the TSX or Accubonds, and also buy some old standards, like the cor-lokt or hot-cor or game kings or pro-hunters in the same weight.

Really dial in a load to be proud of with the high $$$ rounds, and develop a accurate plinking round with the cheaper bullets.

Shoot the heck out of the cheaper bullets for practice, and kill things with the high $$$ rounds.

Then go out and kill some things with the cheaper bullets just to remind you that they still work, and that the old man and grampa didn't have it so bad.