Which reel?

nocturnal23

Reaction score
OK im not an expert fisher and im only 13, but im going backpacking the summer with my grandpa and he insists on using spincast reel and my old one broke which is best out of  Shakespeare, Daiwa, Zebco, cabelas,  Johnson, or Quantum, i saw these at cabelas and the only fish ive ever fished is trout and i want to try other ones so whats good.

Bishop

Banned
Reaction score
n23,
I don't use spin cast reels anymore, but they are great to learn with, and are simple to use.  A lot of guys from your grandfathers generation started using them because they didn't like the backlash problems that came with bait casting equipment.  Old habits are hard to break, so a lot of grandpa's out there still use them.  A good spin cast reel is both simple to use and reliable.  Both Zebco and Johnson have probably been making the best spin cast reels for decades now.  I would stay away from cheaper reels like the Shakespeare or South Bend because design is critical in a spin cast.  Since the line is enclosed inside the reel, it is prone to get tangles.  I would look for a reel that had a large hole for the line to feed thru and had at least 2 pick up pins to bring in the line.  The cheap reels will ussually have notches that grab the line to retrive it.  These notches will wear line very fast.  As with all reels a smooth drag is very important.  If you stay with the moderate to high end Zebco and Johnson reels you should get a very good spin cast reel.  Diawa and Quantum (owned by Zebco) make excellent spinning and bait cast reels, but I'm not familiar with how good their spin cast reels are.  

nocturnal23

Reaction score
Thanks i almost got the  Shakespeare because it looked nice, the Johnson Maxxum sounds nice it has dual pick up pin and the Daiwa Spectrumcast sounds nice also but no dual pins but it has a  titanium nitrided coating. Can i fish for anything beside trout with these?

nocturnal23

Reaction score